100 Birds in 2018 – #36 Northern Flicker

I first identified the Norther Flicker a couple of years ago near my house.  I’ve gotten plenty of photos of them over the last couple of years as well.  This one isn’t the greatest.  It was terrible lighting and not the best angle, but i took it on a hike in Colorado.  I figured I might as well post it anyhow and show what a little editing can do.

Northern Flicker

Northern Flicker (1/2000, f/6.3, ISO 400, Canon 7D Mark II, Sigma 150-600 C)

There are two types of Northern Flickers in the U.S., the red-shafted in the west and the yellow shafted in the east.  Living in Nebraska, I’ve seen and photographed both types.  The other easily identifiable characteristic of these birds is the white patch on their rump.  When they fly away from you, it’s a dead giveaway. 

They aren’t your typical woodpecker.  They tend to forage on the ground with sparrows and blackbirds, rather than on insects in tree cavities like their relatives.

Northern Flickers are wide-spread and common across the U.S. However, they have seen a decline over the last 60 years.  I would guess it’s similar to most of our declining bird species and due to loss of habitat and urbanization.

Leave a comment